Zagreb - Croatia

Zagreb is the capital of Croatia located in the northwest of the country, along the Savariver, on the southern slopes of Mt. Medvednica. Medieval Zagreb was built in the 11th to 13th centuries in the villages of Kaptol and Gradec and these now make up the city's hilly Old Town. The lower town is the business and shopping district with Austro-Hungarian buildings housing a variety of shops, restaurants and offices. Kaptol grew around the Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (formerly St Stephen's Cathedral) and remains and frescoes from the original building destroyed by earthquake in 1880 can be seen. The cathedral is surrounded by The Archiepiscopal Palace and 16th century fortifications. Gradec sights include the Lotrscak Tower near the funicular railway that connects the lower and upper towns, St Catherine's Church, the gothic St Mark's Church and the Sabor, Croatia's National Assembly. Nearby is the Banski Dvori Palace, the presidential palace, and several museums. Zagreb in 1094 AD existed as two different city centres: the smaller, eastern Kaptol, inhabited mainly by clergy and housing Zagreb Cathedral, and the larger, western Gradec, inhabited mainly by farmers and merchants. Gradec and Zagreb were united in 1851 by Ban Josip Jelacic and the main city squareis named after him. During the period of former Yugoslavia, Zagreb was an important economic centre and the second largest city. After the dissolution of Yugoslavia, Zagreb became the capital of Croatia.