Manila - Philippines

Manila, the capital of the Philippines, is a major seaport and has an excellent deep, sheltered harbour with a built-up modern waterfront. On the south bank of the Pasig river is the original city, Intramuros, founded in 1571 by the Spanish, and containing striking examples of 17th-century Spanish architecture, together with an encircling wall begun in 1590. Most of the old city was destroyed during World War II. From Manila you can also visit the Malacanang Palace, Pagsanjan Falls and Taal volcano. The Philippine capital of Manila was founded by King Philip II of Spain. In the years that followed, the Spanish successfully prevented the Dutch, Portuguese and Chinese from settling in the Philippines. However, during the Seven Years' War the British occupied Manila, but agreed to return it to Spain under the 1763 Treaty of Paris. During the Second World War, the Japanese took control of Manila during a 1942 invasion, and eventually the U.S. recaptured the islands and returned them to the Philippines. In 1946, the country was granted full independence and the first president, Manuel Roxas, was elected. In more recent history was the exile of former leader Ferdinand Marcos and the new Democratic leadership. There are more than 30 cruises calling at this port. Click the month or cruise line logo you are interested in to see details of the cruises.