Vienna - Austria

Vienna is situated in northeast Austria on the River Danube and a centre for classical music, art, theatre and history. It is known for the waltz and home to the Spanish Riding School, Sacher Torte and Vienna Boy's Choir. Its central core, the Innere Stadt, is easily manageable by foot and public transport. The skyline is still dominated by the spire of St. Stephen's Cathedral and by the giant Ferris wheel in the city's main park, the Prater. The Schonbrunn Palace is the summer residence of Maria Theresia and the Hasbergs. The castle of Liechtenstein and Baden was built in the 12th century. Modern Vienna has undergone several historical incarnations. From 1558 to 1918 it was an imperial city. Before 1806 it was the seat of the Holy Roman Empire, then the capital of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. In 1918 it became the capital of the central European country that emerged from World War I as a republic. From 1938 to 1945 Austria was a part of Hitler's "Greater" Germany. In the decade following World War II, Austria was occupied by British, French, American, and Soviet forces, and Vienna was divided into five zones. In 1955 the State Treaty, by which the country regained independence, was signed with the four occupying powers, and Vienna became once again the capital of a sovereign Austria. There are more than 30 cruises calling at this port. Click the month or cruise line logo you are interested in to see details of the cruises.