Quirimbas National Park - Mozambique

The Quirimbas Archipelago consists of 32 coral islands stretching from Pemba (the capital of Cabo Delgado Province) to the Rovuma River, which forms the natural frontier between Tanzania and Mozambique. The area has never been developed and remains an unexplored tourist paradise. The southernmost 11 of these islands and a vast expanse of mainland forest are included in the Quirimbas National Park - a conservation effort to preserve and protect the area. The Quirimbas National Park boasts 7,500 square kilometres, including the largest marine protected area in Africa. Habitat types found in the park include: the world-class diving and fishing spot of St Lazarus's Bank 50 miles offshore, coral reefs, 11 islands, sea grass beds, mangroves, white sandy beaches, woodland, savannah, forests and mountains. These habitats are home to many of the world's most endangered species such as dugongs, leopards, cheetahs, wild dogs, sea otters, coconut crabs and black coral.